If you do not have proof of ownership (a title) for your boat, motor vehicle, motorhome, mobile home, motorcycle or other titled property, you can provide the State of Wyoming with a Certificate of Title Bond in order to replace your lost, stolen, damaged or defective title. You will be able to register your vehicle with this new title.
Don’t overpay, apply today and get your title bond in 3 simple steps. Have questions? Contact us and talk to a title bond expert today.
Wyoming Statute 31-2-105 requires individuals to file a surety bond if they have insufficient vehicle ownership evidence. The Wyoming title bond is a one-time, non-refundable instrument that allows a new vehicle title to be issued for registration when the original title is not available. The bond protects any prior owner, lien holder, or subsequent purchaser against expenses, losses, or damages resulting from the certificate of title issuance.
If the individual turns out not to be the legal vehicle owner, the surety company will pay any valid claim up to the full bond amount. The bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse the surety company for the damages paid.
Wyoming certificate of title bond costs start at $100. Your exact cost will vary depending on the bond amount required by the state.
The Wyoming Lost Title Bond costs either $100 or 1.5% of the bond amount, whichever is greater (rates may vary for bonds greater than $25,000).
You can purchase Wyoming certificate of title bonds online 24/7. You must provide the following information for the state’s approval.
Once your payment has been processed, your surety bond documentation will be issued. You’ll receive a copy of your Wyoming title bond by email, and your official bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address.
The Department of Transportation requires your Wyoming surety bond to be physically issued and shipped directly to you. Orders received by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day. If you’re in a rush, choose overnight shipping during checkout.
Wyoming requires residents to purchase a surety bond as part of the application process to obtain a bonded title. The bond ensures that the rightful vehicle owner will not suffer a financial loss if the title applicant is seeking to obtain the title fraudulently. If the title applicant is engaging in fraud, then the rightful vehicle owner can file a claim against the bond and receive compensation up to the full amount of the bond. In short, the bond acts as a safeguard against people attempting to obtain ownership of a vehicle through unethical means.
Although the Wyoming Department of Transportation enforces bonded title requirements, individual county clerk offices manage vehicle registration in Wyoming. All vehicle registration paperwork will be filed with your local county clerk, who will also issue your bonded title once your application is approved.
Please note a Wyoming lost title bond is required if you have insufficient vehicle ownership. If you plan to sell vehicles, a separate Wyoming vehicle dealer bond is required.
Wyoming statute 31-2-105 dictates that the bond amount must be equal to twice the vehicle’s retail value. To determine the vehicle’s value, bonded title applicants may utilize the Kelly Blue Book, NADA, have their vehicle appraised by a licensed auto dealer, or utilize the vehicle’s past registration statements. If you need help determining your required bond amount, the state advises you to request a certified written appraisal statement from a licensed Wyoming vehicle dealer before purchasing your surety bond.
Certificate of title bonds are not required to register vehicles valued at less than $2,500. The minimum bond amount required is $5,000.
The Wyoming Department of Transportation requires title applicants to purchase a surety bond if the applicant cannot present the department with a certificate of title that assigns a prior owner’s interest, a notarized bill of sale, or other evidence of vehicle ownership. Lost title bonds are typically required for the following reasons:
Bonded titles are not required for vehicles worth less than $2,500.
We do not conduct a credit check for bonds that are less than $25,000. At limits over $25,000, we will review your standing to determine the qualification and rates for the bond.
If your county clerk requires your Wyoming surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider.
The most common changes for these bonds include:
Wyoming vehicle ownership bonds do not renew. The surety bond requirement is valid for 3 years from the bond’s effective date.
To apply for a bonded title, complete the following steps:
If the vehicle does have active liens against it or if a previous owner is found, the applicant must contact the lienholder/owner to request either a release of lien or ownership.
In Wyoming, bonded title applicants should submit the completed bond form, including the power of attorney, to their local license office. The Wyoming Lost Title Surety Bond requires signatures from both the surety company that issues the bond and the bonded title applicant. The surety company should include the following information on the bond form:
Wyoming requires all motor vehicle owners to purchase auto insurance with the following minimum limits:
Bonded title applicants must purchase and maintain a surety bond in an amount equal to twice the vehicle’s retail value.
To avoid claims against their bond, bonded title applicants in Wyoming must ensure that they are the rightful owners of the motor vehicle.