If you do not have proof of ownership (a title) for your boat, motor vehicle, motorhome, mobile home, motorcycle or other titled property, you can provide the State of Maine with a Certificate of Title Bond in order to replace your lost, stolen, damaged or defective title. You will be able to register your vehicle with this new title.
Don’t overpay, apply today and get your title bond in 3 simple steps. Have questions? Contact us and talk to a title bond expert today.
Maine Revised Statute §659 requires a title surety bond be provided for vehicles without satisfactory ownership documentation. By filing a Maine motor vehicle title bond, an individual who lacks sufficient ownership evidence can get a bonded title for their vehicle. In Maine these bonds are officially called a “Motor Vehicle Title Surety Bond,” but they’re more commonly known as a ” certificate of title surety bond” or “lost title bond.”
This bond specifically protects previous or future owners or lien holders against expenses, losses, or damages resulting from the certificate of title issuance. If the original car title is found and a claim is made against the bond, the surety company will pay valid claims up to the full bond amount. The bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse the surety company.
Maine certificate of title bond costs start at $100. Your personal premium will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
The Maine Lost Title Bond costs either $100 or 1.5% of the bond amount, whichever is greater (rates may vary for bonds greater than $25,000).
You can purchase your Maine motor vehicle title bond online 24/7. You must provide the following information for Bureau of Motor Vehicle approval.
Once your payment has been processed, you’ll receive your official motor vehicle title bond by email instantly.
Maine requires residents to purchase a surety bond as part of the application process to obtain a bonded title. The bond ensures that the rightful vehicle owner will not suffer a financial loss if the title applicant is seeking to obtain the title fraudulently. If the title applicant is engaging in fraud, then the rightful vehicle owner can file a claim against the bond and receive compensation up to the full amount of the bond. In short, the bond acts as a safeguard against people attempting to obtain ownership of a vehicle through unethical means.
Maine statute 659 dictates that the bond amount must be equal to one and a half times the vehicle’s current value. The Secretary of State will determine the vehicle’s value during the title application process.
We do not conduct a credit check for bonds that are less than $25,000. For bonds over $25,000, we have Bad Credit bonding programs that we can get your bond approved and issued with the same fast and easy service.
The Maine Secretary of State Bureau of Motor Vehicles enforces requirements for vehicle title registration, including the requirement that the lost title bond amount be 1.5 times the vehicle’s value. If you need help determining your exact required bond amount, contact the SOS before purchasing your bond. Bonds must be submitted to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of issuance.
The Maine Secretary of State will require a title applicant to purchase a surety bond if the applicant cannot present the department with adequate proof that the applicant does in fact own the vehicle. Typically, lost title bonds are required for the following reasons:
If the Maine Secretary of State requires you to update your surety bond documentation for any reason, contact your surety provider.
The most common changes for this bond can include the following.
Maine motor vehicle title bonds are issued for 3 years and don’t renew. At the end of the state-issued 3-year term, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles will return the bond if the vehicle is no longer registered in the state and the current title has been provided.
You cannot get a bonded title in Maine if:
Complete the steps below to receive your bonded title:
In Maine, bonded title applicants should submit the completed bond form, including the power of attorney, to their local BMV office. The Maine Lost Title Surety Bond requires signatures from both the surety company that issues the bond and the bonded title applicant. The surety company should include the following information on the bond form:
Maine requires all motor vehicle owners to purchase auto insurance with the following minimum limits:
Bonded title applicants must purchase and maintain a surety bond in an amount equal to one and a half times the vehicle’s value.
To avoid claims against their bond, bonded title applicants in Maine must ensure that they are the rightful owners of the motor vehicle.