If you own a motor vehicle, motorhome, boat, mobile home, motorcycle or other titled property you are required to show proof of ownership to the State of Alaska. Usually, this is your title. If your title has become lost, stolen, damaged or defective, you can provide the state with a Certificate of Title Bond in order to replace your title and register your vehicle.
Alaska Statute 28.10.216 requires individuals to file a surety bond to register a vehicle or trailer without proper ownership evidence. The bond form is titled “Vehicle Title Surety Bond,” but it’s more commonly known as a “certificate of title bond” or “lost title bond.” The Alaska lost title bond protects former owners or subsequent purchases who can sue on the bond if there’s an ownership dispute. The surety company will pay valid claims up to the full bond amount, which the bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse. The Alaska legislature enacted the bonding requirement to ensure that the rightful vehicle owner will receive compensation if the title applicant does not actually own the vehicle. The bond amount must be equal to one and a half times the appraised value of the motor vehicle.
Alaska certificate of title bond costs start at $100 for the state-required 3-year term. The exact cost varies depending on the bond amount required by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
The Alaska Lost Title Bond costs either $100 or 1.5% of the bond amount, whichever is greater (rates may vary for bonds greater than $25,000).
Alaska statute 28.10.26 dictates that the limit on the lost title bond must be equal to one and a half times the vehicle’s appraised value. If you need help determining your vehicle value or required bond amount, the state advises you to contact a licensed dealer, insurance appraiser, or bank.
We do not conduct a credit check for bonds that are less than $25,000. At limits over $25,000, we will review your standing to determine the qualification and rates for the bond.
Alaska requires all individuals applying for a duplicate vehicle title to file a three year, noncancelable, surety bond. However, if the vehicle weighs 500 pounds or less the DMV may not require the title applicant to be bonded. Title applicants for vehicles weighing 500 pounds or less should check with their local DMV to determine if they need to purchase a bond or not.
By filing this bond, you verify you’re the vehicle or trailer’s true legal owner despite not having proper ownership evidence. Filing a surety bond allows you to get a bonded title for your vehicle. The following vehicles are not eligible for bonded titles.
If you plan to sell vehicles, a separate Alaska motor vehicle dealer bond is required.
You can purchase your Alaska vehicle title bond online 24/7. You must provide the following information for the Division of Motor Vehicles approval.
Once your payment is processed, you’ll receive your official Alaska vehicle title bond by email instantly.
The Alaska Department of Administration Division of Motor Vehicles enforces registration requirements for vehicles missing titles. If you have questions about your bonded title application, call the DMV at 1(855)269-5551.
If the Alaska DMV requires any updates to your official bond documentation, contact your surety provider.
The most common changes for these bonds are the vehicle owner’s name or specific vehicle information.
Yes, Alaska bonded titles expire 3 years from their effective date and do not renew.
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles dictates that the duplicate title applicants appraise their vehicles following these criteria:
The appraisal must contain the following items:
Duplicate title applicants in Alaska should submit the completed bond form, including the power of attorney, to their local DMV. The Alaska Lost Title Surety Bond requires signatures from both the surety company that issues the bond and the duplicate title applicant. The surety company should include the following information on the bond form:
Alaska requires all motor vehicle owners to purchase auto insurance with the following limits:
Duplicate title applicants must purchase and maintain a surety bond equal to one and a half times the appraised value of the motor vehicle.
To avoid claims against their bond, duplicate title applicants in Alaska must ensure that they are the rightful owners of the motor vehicle.