If you do not have acceptable evidence of ownership for your Motor Vehicle, Boat, Motor Home, Mobile Home, Motorcycle or other titled property, you can provide the State of Connecticut with a Certificate of Title Bond to get a new title so you can register your vehicle. The bond must be in force for five (5) years.
Don’t overpay, apply today and get your title bond in 3 simple steps. Have questions? Contact us and talk to a title bond expert today.
Connecticut statute 17-176 requires residents who never received or have lost their vehicle title to purchase a surety bond as part of the ownership registration process and before obtaining their duplicate title. By filing a Connecticut certificate of title surety bond, the principal (vehicle owner) verifies their vehicle was not acquired under fraudulent circumstances. The bond protects prior owners and lien holders, as well as any subsequent purchaser of the vehicle, in the event the original title is found.
State form H-113 is officially titled the “Surety Bond – Certificate of Title” but is also known as the “certificate of title bond,” “vehicle title bond,” or just “title bond.” Note that Connecticut title bonds must be filed with the DMV within 30 days of issuance.
Connecticut requires residents to purchase a surety bond as part of the application process to obtain a duplicate title. The bond ensures that the rightful vehicle owner will not suffer a financial loss if the title applicant is seeking to obtain the title fraudulently. If the title applicant is engaging in fraud, then the rightful vehicle owner can file a claim against the bond and receive compensation up to the full amount of the bond. In short, the bond acts as a safeguard against people attempting to obtain ownership of a vehicle through unethical means.
Connecticut certificate of title bond costs start at $100. Your exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles for your vehicle.
The Connecticut Lost Title Bond costs either $100 or 1.5% of the bond amount, whichever is greater (rates may vary for bonds greater than $25,000).
Connecticut statute 14-176 dictates that the bond amount must be equal to twice the vehicle’s value as determined by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
We do not conduct a credit check for bonds that are less than $25,000. For bonds over $25,000, we have Bad Credit bonding programs that we can get your bond approved and issued with the same fast and easy service.
You can purchase your Connecticut title bond online 24/7. You’ll need to provide the following information for the Department of Motor Vehicles filing approval.
Once your payment has been processed, you’ll receive a digital copy of your surety bond by email instantly. Your official vehicle title bond will be delivered to your preferred mailing address.
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles enforces registration requirements for vehicles with lost, stolen, or missing titles. Before the DMV will issue a certificate of title for a vehicle with a lost or stolen title, applicants must file a surety bond with a bond amount equal to 2 times the vehicle’s appraised value. Applicants must verify their required bond amount with the state before purchasing their bond.
If a vehicle owner doesn’t have a title, they must purchase and file a certificate of title bond to properly register their vehicle.
Bonded titles aren’t available for vehicles with a lien unless the applicant gets a certificate of lien release. The title bond will then protect the previous title lienholder.
The DMV requires this Connecticut certificate of title bond to register vehicles with missing vehicle ownership documentation. If you plan to sell, repair, or lease vehicles to the public, the DMV enforces a separate Connecticut auto dealer, repairer, or leasing bond. If you issue motor vehicle registration and collect fees, the DMV enforces a separate Connecticut registration issuance bond.
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles will require a title applicant to purchase a surety bond if they cannot determine with certainty that the applicant actually owns the vehicle. Typically, lost title bonds are required for the following reasons:
If the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider.
The most common changes for these bonds include:
Connecticut lost title bonds do not renew after their initial 5-year term. The bond will be returned at the end of 5 years (or before) if the vehicle is no longer registered in Connecticut or if the valid certificate of title is filed in its place.
The DMV does not require titles for vehicles 20 years old or older. Vehicles less than 20 years old must carry a title for vehicle registration.
To apply for a bonded title, Connecticut residents must complete the following steps:
In Connecticut, bonded title applicants should submit the completed bond form, including the power of attorney, to their local DMV office or mail it to the following address:
State of Connecticut
Department of Motor Vehicles
Attn: Specialized Registry Services
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
The Connecticut Title Surety Bond requires signatures from both the surety company that issues the bond and the bonded title applicant. The surety company should include the following information on the bond form:
Connecticut requires all motor vehicle owners to purchase auto insurance with the following limits:
Bonded title applicants must purchase and maintain a surety bond in an amount equal to twice the vehicle’s value as determined by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
To avoid claims against their bond, bonded title applicants in Connecticut must ensure that they are the rightful owners of the motor vehicle.