If you do not have proof of ownership (a title) for your boat, motor vehicle, motorhome, mobile home, motorcycle or other titled property, you can provide the State of Rhode Island with a Certificate of Title Bond in order to replace your lost, stolen, damaged or defective title. You will be able to register your vehicle with this new title.
Don’t overpay, apply today and get your title bond in 3 simple steps. Have questions? Contact us and talk to a title bond expert today.
Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-3.1-9 requires individuals file a surety bond for registration if they cannot provide sufficient vehicle ownership. The state’s bond form is officially titled “Bond Application,” but it’s more commonly known as a “certificate of title bond,” “defective title bond,” “lost title bond,” or just “title bond.”
This bond specifically requires certificate of title applicants to comply with Title Law Chapter 31-3.1 and also protects prior vehicle owners, lienholders, and subsequent purchasers from losses resulting from certificate of title issuance. In the event of a valid claim, the issuing surety company will pay up to the full bond amount, which the bonded vehicle owner must reimburse.
Rhode Island certificate of title bond costs start at $100. Your exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
The Rhode Island Lost Title Bond costs either $100 or 1.5% of the bond amount, whichever is greater (rates may vary for bonds greater than $25,000).
You can purchase your Rhode Island vehicle title bond online 24/7. You’ll need to provide the following information for the Division of Motor Vehicles filing approval.
You’ll receive your bond confirmation by email once your order has been processed.
Rhode Island requires residents to purchase a surety bond as part of the application process to obtain a bonded title. The bond ensures that the rightful vehicle owner will not suffer a financial loss if the title applicant is seeking to obtain the title fraudulently. If the title applicant is engaging in fraud, then the rightful vehicle owner can file a claim against the bond and receive compensation up to the full amount of the bond. In short, the bond acts as a safeguard against people attempting to obtain ownership of a vehicle through unethical means.
The Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles requires title applicants to purchase a surety bond if the applicant cannot present the department with tangible proof that they own the vehicle and are unable to contact the vehicle’s previous owner. Lost title bonds are typically required for the following reasons:
The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles enforces vehicle registration requirements, including the surety bond requirement for individuals with insufficient proof of vehicle ownership. If you have questions about registering your vehicle or submitting a bonded title application, you can contact division staff by calling 1(401)462-4368 or by filling out an online questions and feedback form.
The Rhode Island certificate of title bond is required for vehicle registration. If you plan to sell vehicles, you need a separate Rhode Island motor vehicle dealer bond.
Your Rhode Island certificate of title surety bond amount must be 1 ½ times your vehicle value as determined by the Division of Motor Vehicles. If you need help determining your bond amount, contact the DMV before purchasing your surety bond.
We do not conduct a credit check for bonds that are less than $25,000. At limits over $25,000, we will review your standing to determine the qualification and rates for the bond.
If the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider.
The most common changes for these bonds include updating the following.
No. Your Rhode Island certificate of title bond will expire at the end of its 3-year term and won’t need to be renewed. The state may return your surety bond before its original 3-year term ends if your vehicle is no longer registered in Rhode Island and the current valid certificate of title is surrendered to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
To apply for a bonded title, complete the following steps:
The application must be completed in its entirety, and be accompanied by a completed sales tax form.
In Rhode Island, bonded title applicants should mail the completed bond form, including the power of attorney, to the following address:
Division of Motor Vehicles Office
600 New London Ave.
Cranston, RI 02920-3024
The Rhode Island Lost Title Surety Bond requires signatures from both the surety company that issues the bond and the bonded title applicant. The surety company should include the following information on the bond form:
The legal name, city, and state entity/individual(s) buying the bond
Surety company’s name, city, and state of incorporation
Date the bond is signed
Witness signatures for both the principal and surety company
Rhode Island requires all motor vehicle owners to purchase auto insurance with the following minimum limits:
Bonded title applicants must purchase and maintain a surety bond in an amount equal to one and a half times the vehicle’s value.
To avoid claims against their bond, bonded title applicants in Rhode Island must ensure that they are the rightful owners of the motor vehicle.