Get Your Arkansas Title Bond Today!

Arkansas title bonds

Rates & Requirements for Arkansas Title Bonds:

  • No Credit Check required for amounts up to $30,000.
  • Bond Name: Certificate of Title Bond
  • Minimum Premium: $100
  • Instant Issue: Up to $30,000
  • Amount Required: 1.5X The value of the vehicle as determined by the local DMV/NADA/KBB

If you do not have proof of ownership (a title) for your boat, motor vehicle, motorhome, mobile home, motorcycle or other titled property, you can provide the State of Arkansas with a Certificate of Title Bond in order to replace your lost, stolen, damaged or defective title. You will be able to register your vehicle with this new title.

Don’t overpay, apply today and get your title bond in 3 simple steps. Have questions? Contact us and talk to a title bond expert today.

Common Questions

What is an Arkansas bonded title?

Arkansas Code § 27-14-409 requires individuals to file a bonded title for vehicles they own with missing proof of legal ownership. The bond protects previous vehicle owners, lien holders, and future vehicle owners from expenses, losses, or damages resulting from certificate of title issuance. Arkansas law requires these bonds be filed within 30 days of their effective date.

The bond must remain in effect for three years. If the vehicle’s ownership is not contested within this time then the bond will no longer be required and the vehicle owner can apply for a standard certificate of title. The bond amount must be equal to one and a half times the vehicle’s value as determined by the Commissioner of Revenue.

How much does a certificate of title bond cost in Arkansas?

Arkansas certificate of title bond costs start at $100. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicle.

  • Bond amounts up to $6,000 cost $100.
  • Bond amounts from $6,001 to $50,000 cost $10 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bond amounts for more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $500.

The Arkansas Lost Title Bond costs either $100 or 1.5% of the bond amount, whichever is greater (rates may vary for bonds greater than $25,000).

How do I get an Arkansas certificate of title bond?

You can purchase your Arkansas title bond online 24/7. You must provide the following information for Office of Motor Vehicle approval.

  • vehicle owner’s name
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • year
  • make
  • model
  • body type

Once your payment is received, your official bond documents will be sent to your email instantly.

Why do you need a bonded title?

By filing an Arkansas bonded title, a vehicle owner verifies they legally own their vehicle and that it was not acquired under fraudulent circumstances. If the original title is later provided, a claim can be filed on the bond. The surety company will pay valid claims to harmed parties up to the bond’s full amount. The bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse the surety company.

An Arkansas lost title bond is required for vehicle registration. If you plan to sell used vehicles in the state, you need a separate Arkansas used motor vehicle dealer bond.

Is a Credit Check Required for the Arkansas Lost Title Bond?

We do not conduct a credit check for bonds that are less than $25,000. For bonds over $25,000, we have Bad Credit bonding programs that we can get your bond approved and issued with the same fast and easy service.

Who registers vehicles in Arkansas?

The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration Office of Motor Vehicle enforces requirements for vehicle title registration in the state. The DFA manages vehicle ownership registration documents including the Arkansas lost title bond form.

How do I determine my bond amount?

The state requires the title bond amount to be 1.5 times the vehicle’s appraised value as determined by the Commissioner. If you need help determining your required bond amount, contact the Office of Motor Vehicles before purchasing your bond.

How do I update or change my title surety bond form?

If the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration requires you to update your surety bond documentation for any reason, contact your surety provider.

The most common changes requested include the vehicle owner’s name or vehicle information.

Do I need to renew my certificate of title bond?

Arkansas certificate of title bonds don’t renew when their original 3-year term expires. The Commissioner of Revenues will return the bond to you after 3 years as long as no claims have been filed against it.

Who is Required to Purchase a Bond?

The Arkansas Commissioner of Revenue will require a title applicant to purchase a surety bond if they cannot determine with certainty that the title applicant actually owns the vehicle. Typically, title applicants will need to obtain a surety bond in the following situations:

  • The vehicle has never been titled
  • The applicant never received the title
  • The previous owner never titled the vehicle
  • The applicant has the title but there is an error in the title transfer
  • The applicant purchased an unclaimed/abandoned vehicle and is not a bonded agent

Title applicants will not be issued a surety bond if any of the following conditions are met:

  • The vehicle has been issued a junking certificate or similarly branded certificate of title
  • The vehicle is subject to a mechanics or storage lien
  • The vehicle is stolen
  • The vehicle is involved in ownership litigation

How do I Apply for a Bonded Title in Arkansas?

To apply for a bonded title, complete the following steps:

  1. Have the Vehicle Inspected
    Bonded title applicants must have their vehicle inspected by the Arkansas State Police, who will then provide the applicant with a form containing their vehicle identification number (VIN).
  2. Complete the Statement of Facts Form
    After receiving their VIN form from the Arkansas State Police, bonded title applicants must complete the Statement of Facts for Issuance of Bonded Title form
  3. Mail the Documents
    Once their statement of facts form is completed, bonded title applicants should mail the form, as well as the form containing their VIN number, to the following address:
    Department of Finance and Administration
    Office of Motor Vehicle – Bonded Titles
    P.O. Box 1272
    Little Rock, AR 72203

If the Department of Finance and Administration deems the applicant eligible to receive a bonded title, they will mail the applicant a surety bond form and instructions on how to file it.

How Do Arkansas Bonded Title Applicants File Their Bond?

In Arkansas, bonded title applicants should submit the completed bond form, including the power of attorney, to any Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles office. The Arkansas Lost Title Surety Bond requires signatures from both the surety company that issues the bond and the title applicant. The surety company should include the following information on the bond form:

  • The legal name and city of entity/individual(s) buying the bond
  • Surety company’s name and address
  • Bond amount
  • Vehicle information
  • Date the bond goes into effect
  • Date the bond is signed

What Are the Insurance Requirements for Bonded Title Applicants in Arkansas?

Arkansas requires all motor vehicle owners to purchase auto insurance with the following limits:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage

Bonded title applicants must purchase and maintain a surety bond equal to one and a half times the value of the motor vehicle.

How Can Arkansas Residents Avoid Claims Against Their Lost Title Bond?

To avoid claims against their bond, bonded title applicants in Arkansas must ensure that they are the rightful owners of the motor vehicle.